Call us free!
0800 043 6644
Find your perfect golf break

The PLAYERS Championship, TPC Sawgrass - 2016 Tournament Travel Packages

The Players Championship The PLAYERS Championship - TPC Sawgrass
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
9th - 15th May 2016

Golf's 5th Major?
The toughest course in tournament golf?
The best finishing 3 holes in the world?

Sawgrass has certainly asked lots of questions of professional golf since its creation in 1982. As the permanent home of THE PLAYERS Championship, the TPC Stadium Course at Sawgrass is a design which creates drama and excitement across the par-72, 7,215 yard Pete Dye layout.

With the likes Greg Norman ('94 with a record score of 264), Tiger Woods ('01 & '13), Adam Scott ('04) and Phil Mickelson ('07) all claiming this coveted trophy, it is easy to see why so many of the world's great players turn up each May to do battle in this picturesque part of Florida.

For the 2016 Championships we're excited to announce some exclusive packages taking in not only access to the tournament but also some of the top courses in the area as part of a great golf holiday.

Exclusive VIP PLAYERS Championship Package

Experience the event complete with VIP Hopitality, golf and accommodation at the historic Casa Monica hotel in Saint Augustine

TPC Sawgrass

Flights - Virgin Atlantic Airways
10th May: London-Orlando
17th May: Orlando-London

Where You'll Stay
Casa Monica Hotel, Saint Augustine (30 minutes from Sawgrass)

Package Details
7 Nights accommodation
Car Hire
Access to Hospitality House Wednesday, Thursday & Friday
Golf at Sawgrass Country Club on Saturday
Access to Turn Hospitality to watch Sunday's final day
Golf at Slammer & Squire at World Golf Village on Monday

VIP Package £2899

Birdie PLAYERS Championship Package

Access to the event as well as golf at some of the best courses in Ponte Vedra Beach

17th hole at TPC Sawgrass

Flights - Virgin Atlantic Airways
12th May: London-Orlando
17th May: Orlando-London

Where You'll Stay
Casa Monica Hotel, Saint Augustine (30 minutes from Sawgrass)

Package Details
5 Nights accommodation
Car Hire
Golf at Sawgrass Country Club on Thursday
Watch The PLAYERS Championship on Friday with Turn Hospitality
Golf at Slammer & Squire on Saturday
Watch The PLAYERS Championship on Sunday with Turn Hospitality

Birdie Package £1799

All you need to know about TPC Sawgrass and The PLAYERS Championship

>> Par - 72
>> 7,215 yards (off the Players Tees)
>> Course Record - 63 (Greg Norman, Fred Couples, Roberto Castro & Martin Kaymer)
>> 100,000 golf balls are lost annually on the 17th
>> Angelo Spagnolo once scored 66 playing out the 17th hole!
>> Record Score - 264 (-24) Greg Norman which is 6 shots better than the second lowest
>> Sandy Lyle became the first non-American to win the event in 1987, claiming $180,000 in the process, Martin Kaymer's win in 2014 banked him 10 times that.

The TPC Stadium Course is considered to be one of the toughest on tour. With narrow fairways combined with undulating greens the course is one which tests ball striking and course management to a level few other events do. While it is the water-laden par-5 16th, par-3 17th and par-4 18th which generate the most interest, there are some fantastic holes scattered across the course which will intimidate even the most talented professional. Looking at the par-3s there is no opportunity to make a birdie unless you find the correct plateau on the putting surface. The 3rd hole has an elevated green with a bunker short for anyone not hitting the perfect shot, while the 8th at over 230 yards with surrounding bunkers a menacing proposition for anyone standing on the tee with a very long iron or fairway wood. The 13th hole, tucked alongside the 4-star Marriott hotel, is a great par-3 with water located all the way along the left hand side of the green, anyone going for the flag here with wind whistling around can easily find a watery grave. The 17th, on paper, is not a difficult proposition. Measuring 137 yards, this hole is a wedge or 9-iron for most of the players in the tournament, however if you throw in a stadium atmosphere with thousands of fans watching you and as the breeze picks up it is easy to see why so many come a cropper on this famous hole.

Past PLAYERS Championship Champions

Year Champion Winning Score Prize
2015 Rickie Fowler -12 $1,800,000
2014 Martin Kaymer (Germany) -13 $1,800,000
2013 Tiger Woods (USA) -13 $1,710,000
2012 Matt Kuchar (USA) -13 $1,710,000
2011 K J Choi (South Korea) -13 $1,710,000
2010 Tim Clarke (South Africa) -16 $1,710,000
2009 Henrik Stenson (Sweden) -12 $1,710,000
2008 Sergio Garcia (Spain) -5 $1,710,000