Golf newsSergio Garcia

Sergio to represent Spain in World Cup

By July 22, 2009December 19th, 2014No Comments

Sergio Garcia will lead Spain into November’s Omega Mission Hills World Cup, to be played between 26th and 29th at the Jose Maria Olazabal-designed Mission Hills Golf Club, China.

With the 18 exempt nations now confirmed for the event, Garcia will represent his country at Mission Hills for the first time, while it will be his fourth attempt in all at capturing the World Cup. Garcia has also played in 2001, 2004 and 2005 with runner-up the best he has managed so far, which came in his native Spain when partnering Miguel Angel Jiminez.

The field for the World Cup is selected through each nation’s leading player on the Official World Golf Ranking as it stood on Monday 22nd June. The leading player of each country may select any fellow player and countryman providing that player was ranked within the top 100 on the Official World Golf Ranking as of either 22 June 2009 or August 17, 2009.

However, if there was no other available player from that country within the top 100 on the Rankings on either of the dates, then the exempt player’s partner would be the next highest ranked available player from the same country outside of the top 100 as of August 17. But if there is no other available player from that country within the top 500 on the official world rankings as at August 17, then the exempt player may select any professional player of his choosing from the same country, regardless of the player’s World Ranking.

The deadline for the leading player to select his partner is August 28, 2009.
While Garcia is yet to name his partner for the event, Irishman Rory McIlroy will head Ireland’s challenge for the World Cup, will also make his first appearance at Mission Hills. McIlroy broke into the world’s top 20 this season and he has nominated Graeme McDowall as his partner.

Ian Poulter, who had an Open championship to forget, will represent England for the third successive year. He will be partnered with Ross Fisher, and the pair will hope to better last year’s sixth place.
South Africa will be represented by Rory Sabbatini and countryman Richard Sterne, while one half of the United States entry will be filled by Nick Watney. Two time European Tour winner Martin Kaymer will represent Germany.

Other confirmed nations include Australia (Robert Allenby and Stuart Appleby); Denmark (Soren Kjeldsen); India (Jeev Milkha Singh); and Argentina (Andres Romero).

The remaining ten places in the tournament will be completed following Qualifiers to be played in Asia, Europe and South America where three countries will go through from each to join the eighteen exempt nations and China, who automatically qualify as host nation.



As one of the largest contributors to the 19th hole, I am responsible for many of the lead articles including our famous tournament previews where I tip the worlds best from the European and PGA Tours.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.