The course's beginnings date back to the last century, in the early 1920's, and are tied to the Royal Family in Britain, in particular, to the Princess Beatriz de Battenberg, mother of Queen Victoria Eugenia. Queen Victoria spent part of the year in the Malaga region and promoted construction of the Club. In 1925 and under the technical direction of Harry Sephard Colt (who also designed and built the Wentworth course) construction began on the primitive, 9-hole course. Later, and under the direction and design of renowned British architect Tom Simpson (whose hands have delivered such important and famous courses as Turnberry, Muirfield and Ballybunion) , it was expanded to 18 holes (6173 m, par 72).