Reasons to Visit Royal Dublin Golf Club
Orginally designed by the famous Harry Colt in 1920, with updates by Martin Hawtree
The links course has hosted the Irish Open on numerous occasions
The course is located only 3 miles from Dublin city centre
Royal Dublin Golf Club is situated magnificently on Bull Island in Dublin Bay and is only accessible by a rickety bridge, but intrepid visitors can be assured that the heart-stopping journey to the Royal course is well worthwhile.
Originally called The Dublin Golf Club, the course has twice relocated since it was founded in 1885, finally ending up on Bull Island and becoming a 'Royal' golf club in 1889 when Queen Victoria granted Royal patronage.
The club is the second oldest in Ireland, after Royal Curragh Golf Club and is a classic out & back, links golf course. Royal Dublin golf course has hosted The Irish Open on 6 occasions, all of which were held after Harry Colt's re-design of the course in the 1920's.